Dadasaheb Phalke Awards 2024

Shah Rukh Khan, Nayanthara Win Big for "Jawan"

Shah Rukh Khan and Nayanthara were both awarded Best Actor and Best Actress, respectively, for their roles in Atlee's "Jawan" at the Dadasaheb Phalke International Film Festival Awards ceremony in Mumbai on Tuesday.


Nayanthara, however, shared her award with Rani Mukherji, who won for her role in Ashima Chibber's "Mrs. Chatterjee vs Norway."


In his acceptance speech, Shah Rukh Khan thanked the jury for selecting him as a winner, expressing gratitude for being chosen for the Best Actor award after a long time. He said, "It’s been a long time I haven’t been chosen for the Best Actor award. It led me to believe that I won’t receive it ever again. So it makes me really happy to be chosen once again for this award."


Besides "Jawan," Sandeep Reddy Vanga's "Animal" also garnered recognition at the event. Bobby Deol was honored with the Best Actor in a Negative Role Award for his performance, while the filmmaker himself received the Best Director Award.


Vicky Kaushal was awarded the Best Actor (Critics) Award for his portrayal of Field Marshal Sam Manekshaw in Meghna Gulzar's "Sam Bahadur." He expressed his gratitude on Instagram, writing, "Thank you so much for honoring me with the Dadasaheb Phalke Best Actor (Critics) Award for Sam Bahadur. To the Indian Army."


Anirudh Ravichander was awarded the Best Music Director for "Jawan." Varun Jain clinched the Best Playback Singer (Male) Award for the song "Tere Vaste" from "Zara Hatke Zara Bachke," while Shilpa Rao received the Best Playback Singer (Female) Award for the song "Besharam Rang" from "Pathaan."


In the Television Awards category, Neil Bhatt was honored as the Best Actor for his role in the popular StarPlus show "Ghum Hai Kisikey Pyaar Meiin," while Rupali Ganguly received the Best Actress Award for her performance in the StarPlus show "Anupamaa."


Karishma Tanna, recognized for her roles in "Naagin 3" and "Qayamat Ki Raat," received the Best Actress in a Web Series Award for Hansal Mehta's Netflix thriller series "Scoop." Meanwhile, Aditya Roy Kapur was honored with the Critics Best Actor in a Web Series award for his performance in "The Night Manager."


The awards ceremony dazzled with glamour and glitz as Bollywood celebrities including Shahid Kapoor, Kareena Kapoor Khan, Vikrant Massey, Sanya Malhotra, and Adah Sharma graced the event with their presence.


Edited By: Arusha Farooq

The Brief. Sign up to receive the top stories you need to know right now.